Arts notes

Arts center director tapped for state post

Ann Evans, executive director of the Lawrence Arts Center, has been appointed by Gov. Bill Graves to the Kansas Arts Commission.

Other new appointees are E. Kaye Abbott, Topeka; Jennie Becker, Wichita; and Harry Krug, Pittsburg. Each of them will serve a three-year term.

The commission is responsible for developing and coordinating the arts within the state. Members also oversee the promotion of Kansas art on the national level.

Exhibit explores figure drawing

An exhibition at the Helen Foresman Spencer Museum of Art explores the centuries-long tradition of life or figure drawing.

"Drawing Figures," organized from the museum's permanent collection, private loans and Kansas University student work, will be displayed Saturday through Oct. 20. Graduate students and interns Sofia Galarza Liu and Carla Tilghman organized the show.

The exhibit spans more than 400 years, from the work of the Italian Lelio Orsi in the 1500s to contemporary work by Lawrence artists Ted Johnson and Robert Brawley. On display will be a variety of processes that artists have used in their attempts to capture the essence of the human figure.

The show is divided in categories emphasizing a particular aspect of figure drawing, from formal techniques to the spontaneity of the sketch. Accompanying the art are display cases showing a variety of tools used by artists in their attempts to learn how to draw the human figure, including three-dimensional plastic casts, skeletons, how-to books and drawing materials.

Museum hours are from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday-Wednesday and Friday-Saturday; 10 a.m.-9 p.m. Thursday; and noon to 5 p.m. Sundays. There is no admission fee; but a donation of $3 is suggested.

Theater recognizes work of volunteers

Lawrence Community Theatre presented its annual Charley Awards July 12 during a dinner and musical program at the theater.

During the 2001-2002 season, 415 volunteers logged nearly 23,000 hours of service at the theater. Volunteers honored for 350-plus hours of service were John Aldridge, Jeff Blair, Mario Bonilla, Andy Brown, Marti Butell, Philip Denton, Jon Hobble, Jane Malin, Ines Riegle, Peggy Sampson, Mary Ann Saunders, Judith Scheff and Jill Troupe.

Mary Ann Saunders was honored as the Volunteer of the Year, with 1,075 hours of service.

Above and Beyond Awards were given to Don Kantorv, Macelli Catering and Soroptimist International of Lawrence for their contributions to the theater.

The Charley Awards are named in honor of Charles Oldfather, a retired law professor who was a longtime theater performer and supporter, and Charles Lown, a retired theater designer who gave technical support at the theater.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.