Arts notes

Special ed teacher receives arts award

Lanell Finneran, a special education teacher at the Bert Nash Community Mental Health Center, has been selected to receive the Kansas Educator of the Year in Arts and Disabilities Award given by Accessible Arts Inc. and the Kansas State Board of Education.

Finneran is recognized for integrating the arts, especially in the areas of visual arts and drama, into the learning experience. She also was honored for mentoring future teachers and creative arts therapists and for her recent drama workshops for children and adolescents. For the past two years she has been artist-in-residence at the Van Go Mobile Arts program.

She will receive the award at a ceremony at 10:45 a.m. Wednesday at the Kansas School for the Blind, 1100 State Ave., Kansas City, Kan.

Organist to give recital, master classes

Marie-Claire Alain, one of the world's leading organists, will visit Kansas University this week to participate in a series of events to celebrate the life and service of Dane G. Bales, a Kansas University alumnus whose contributions helped build the Bales Organ Recital Hall.

The events include "The Organ Music of Maurice Durufle," a concert by KU student organists, 7:30 p.m. Monday; a master class on the works of Johannes Bach taught by Alain, 2:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m. Tuesday; a master class on the music of Cesar Franck, 2:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m. Wednesday; and a master class on the French classical period, 2:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m. Thursday.

Alain will perform a recital at 7:30 p.m. Friday. The program features works by Marchand, Dandrieu, Bach, Franck, Albert Alain, Jehan Alain and Langlais.

Tickets are $12 for general admission and $10 for students and seniors. They are available at the Lied Center Box Office, 864-ARTS; Murphy Hall Box Office, 864-3982; and Student Union Activities Box Office, 864-3477.

KU art faculty, alumni receive recognitions

Kansas University faculty and alumni recently received College Art Assn. honors.

Kerry Morgan, who earned a doctorate in art history, was named an association professional development fellow, one of seven awards given nationally.

Michael Aurbach, a professor at Vanderbilt and a Kansas University alumnus, was elected to a two-year term as association president. Aurbach received bachelor's degrees in biology, journalism and studio art and a master's degree in art history, all from KU.

Andrea Norris, director of the Helen Foresman Spencer Museum of Art at KU, was elected was as a vice president for the association.

Roger Shimomura, KU art professor, received the association's Distinguished Body of Work Award for his "American Diary Series."


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.