Arts notes

Sunday, March 17, 2002

Lawrence artist wins award at dog show

An oil painting by Lawrence artist Kristin Dempsey won several awards at the 2002 Art Show at a recent dog show in Wichita.

"Talley" received second place in oil and acrylic painting, best entry by a Kansas artists and best entry depicting a dog from the herding group.

Poetry contest seeks entries from students

Logan, Utah � Creative Communication is seeking entries in its poetry contest for students in fourth through 12th grades from Kansas, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota and Nebraska.

About $2,000 in prizes will be awarded to the winning poets, and $500 in grants will be awarded to schools.

The contest has three divisions: fourth through sixth grades, seventh through ninth grades and 10th through 12th grades. There is no entry fee. Contest deadline is April 5.

For more information, go to

htm. Poets can also enter by sending one original poem, 21 lines or less, with the poet's name, teacher's name, school name, school address, city, state and zip code to Creative Communication, P.O. Box 302, Smithfield, Utah 84335.

Woodcarving show offers exhibits, demos

Lee's Summit, Mo. � "Artistry in Wood," the 29th Annual Spring Wood Carving Show sponsored by the Kansas City Wood Carvers Club, will be Friday and Saturday at John Knox Pavilion, 520 N.W. Murray Road.

Wood carvers and distributors will exhibit and sell wood carvings, books, carving blanks, supplies, tools and wood.

Hours are from 11 a.m. to 8 p.m. Friday and 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday. Admission is $1 at the door.

Coterie Theatre expands, adds lobby

Kansas City, Mo. � The Coterie Theatre, 2450 Grand Ave., will expand its facility to create a large lobby and classroom space. The renovation also includes new dressing rooms and a green room.

The new lobby and exterior design will be by Coterie set designer Gary Wichansky. The head architect is Rick Schroeder, project manager for Crown Center Facilities Management.

Construction will begin this summer and classes will begin in September.

Magazine seeking poetry entries

Prairie Village � Potpourri Literary Magazine is accepting submissions to its 2002 National Poetry Month Award.

The winner will receive $100, publication in Potpourri and a copy of the issue in which the poem appears. Two honorable mentions will receive publication and a copy of the issue.

Submissions must be original, unpublished poetry of any form or style. There should be one poem per page; poems should have a maximum of 50 lines. The author's name, address, phone number, e-mail address and title must appear on a separate cover sheet.

An author may submit up to three poems with a $5 check. Include a self-addressed, stamped envelope to receive notification of the winners.

Entries must be postmarked by April 30. Send to Potpourri National Poetry Month Award, P.O. Box 8278, Prairie Village 66208.

Kemper acquires works by contemporary artists

Kansas City, Mo. � The Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art has acquired 10 new works by modern and contemporary artists.

The works are "The Androgen," glass, stainless steel and fabric by Jaume Plensa; "The Bridesmaids in Pink," chromogenic color print by Tina Barney; "The Wedding," two-channel video projection by Bruce Yonemoto; "Global Myopia," pencil on aluminum foil, "Untitled," an engraved McIntosh apple, and "Great White Dialogue," 24,549 sheets of paper, some with cuts, all by Marco Maggi; "Coaxed Red," acrylic paint on canvas by Dan Christensen; "Summer Light Series: Pauillac," lithograph, collage and embossing, and "London Series I," silkscreen, both by Robert Motherwell; and "Remembered," oil paint on canvas by Douglass Freed.

Photographers place in Hays exhibition

Lawrence photographers made a good showing at the recent Five-State Photography Exhibition at the Hays Arts Center, 112 E. 11th St.

Hobart Jackson and Leo Lutz received third-place cash prizes for works they submitted in the open and nature categories. Edward Robinson III received the juror's merit recognition.

Other Lawrence area photographers accepted into the show are Jon Blumb, Tasia Cornelius, Mary Garvin, Dick Herpich, Paul Herpich, Morgan Hill, Shakura Jackson, Caity Kennedy, Chris Klopeer, Jaimie Oller, Ben Robertson, Rachel Sanner, Tom Soetaert, Donald Stevanov, Courtney Taulbert and Carolyn Young.