Style Scout: Louis Anajjar

photo

Louis Anajjar

Name: Louis Anajjar

Age: 28

Sign: Libra/Monkey

Hometown: Washington D.C

Time in Lawrence: 2 1/2 years

Occupation: Filmmaker, performance artist, and yoga teacher.

What were you doing when scouted? Taking a break from working on my film "Futbol Anthropology." 

Favorite places? House of Cha, The Bourgeois Pig, Tap Room, the french fries at Five Guys, and The Casbah Market.

How would you describe your style? A poor ethnic kid looking at a James Dean poster.

Where do you get your hair cut? I cut it myself.

photo

photo

Favorite trends? Symbols, fat knits, texture, Brazilian fashion, and Nike ID shoes.

Least favorite trends? Giant statement necklaces and oversized handbags for girls. Pink shirts on guys. White sunglasses, Buddhist beads, Rosaries, and scarves. 

Tattoos/piercings? I have a visual representation of who I am on my forearm. It is a reminder of what matters to me, and was done by Carlos at Big Daddy Cadillac's. My brother and I have the same tattoo.

Favorite coffee shop? La Prima Tazza, because I love the staff and their unique coffee drinks. It also reminds me of being in Europe, and has a good amount of light for studying.

Favorite bar? I like the Tap Room and the Pig. I also like the mulled wine at the Star Bar.

What would you like to see more of in Lawrence? I'd like to see more street musicians. I wish some of the music students at KU would come and play downtown. I'd also like to see more bicycles, more lounges, and more of a dance community.

What would you like to see less of in Lawrence? Less pitbulls and tow trucks. And less people shouting "faggot" from trucks as they drive by.

Who are your fashion influences? Paul Newman, M.I.A, Luis Bujia, Rudy Miles, and John Dennis.

People say I look like: I've gotten Robert Downey Jr. and Prince before. 

What's in your manbag? A bunch of old CDs—Tricky, Gay Dad, Saul Williams, and George Michael. A scarf that my friend knitted for me, and a pen.

Tell us a secret: My idea of a perfect date is sittin' on a curb, sipping on a Coca Cola slurpee and then later on, doing laundry.

PRICE OF CLOTHING:

Shoes: Nike ID shoes that I designed, purchased online, 5 months ago for $135.

photo

Jeans: Levis, purchased at Urban Outfitters, 8 months ago for $50.

Belt: J. Crew, given to me in trade about 3 1/2 years ago, after I did makeup for them.

Tank top: Purchased at the Shaolin Temple in NYC, 2 years ago for $15.

Shirt: Purchased at H&M; in Chicago, about 3 years ago for $25.

Necklace: My friend sent it to me from Spain, about 2 years ago.

Bag: Purchased in South America, about 3 years ago for $20.

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.