Style Scout: Robert Knapp

photo

Robert Knapp

Name: Robert Knapp

Age: 22

Sign: Pisces

Hometown: Houston, TX

Occupation: Barista at Henry's, student assistant at the Applied English Center, and soon-to-be KU grad.

What were you doing when scouted? Smoking and getting ready to go to work.

Favorite places? Henry's, of course. Potter's Lake, down by the bridge by the river, Harbour Lights, The Replay, The Dusty Bookshelf, Third Planet, and Aimee's because they have the best biscuits and gravy in town.

How would you describe your style? Apocalypse cowboy.

Where do you get your hair cut? Malcolm Miller cuts my hair. Malcolm Miller for Mayor!

photo

photo

Favorite trends? Sloppy pompadours, casualness, some but not all dreads, nose rings that you don't notice, sideburns that don't quit, legs that don't quit, and smiles.

Least favorite trends? Way too many accessories and socks with sandals. You see that look more than you expect.

Tattoos/piercings? I have four tattoos. Two were done at Sacred Heart in Houston, one was done at Joe's Body Art, and the other was done by Scary Carrie at Big Daddy Cadillac's.

Favorite coffee shop? I like Henry's because it's a melting pot and they sign my paychecks. People don't drink coffee here, they live here.

Favorite bar? I like Henry's Upstairs because they have the best bartenders in town, The Replay because they have pinball, and The Jackpot because they have Multicade.

What would you like to see more of in Lawrence? I'd like to see more art & lit mags, more small press, more chuckles, and free food.

What would you like to see less of in Lawrence? iPhones and chain stores.

Who are your fashion influences? Joe Strummer and Willie Nelson.

People say I look like? A skinny Marlon Brando.

Tell us a secret: If they had form-fitting Depends, I'd use them.

PRICE OF CLOTHING:

Boots: Purchased at ATC about 1 year ago for $18.50.

photo

Jeans: Levis, purchased online about a year ago for $40.

Shirt: Purchased at Urban Outfitters, 1 1/2 years ago for $12.

Cuff: Purchased in Brazil for 5 reals (about $1.50 US), 3 years ago.

Glasses: Walmart, purchased 1 1/2 years ago for $20.

Belt: My dad's old belt, I've had it for 6 years.

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.