Winners of Rocket Grants announced

Press release from the Spencer: The Spencer Museum of Art and Kansas City’s Charlotte Street Foundation are pleased to announce the 2010-2011 recipients of Rocket Grants, a new program that provides direct support for innovative, experimental, artist-driven, and artist-centered projects in the Lawrence-Kansas City area. From a proposal pool of 83 applicants, 12 projects were selected as the first recipients of this new funding opportunity available to artists who live within an 80-mile radius of downtown Kansas City.

A. Bitterman: "Point of Interest" involves the installation of a 10-foot interpretive exhibit—resembling a national parks information booth—along the sidewalk in front of the artist’s home in Brookside, and the creation of a short hiking trail in the front yard.

Lisa Cordes: "Prop 8 On Trial" is a multimedia performance examining the 2010 trial, Perry v. Schwarzenegger, challenging the constitutionality of California's Proposition 8 that banned same-sex marriage.

Kurt Flecksing: “The S'mores Grant Project” is a micro-grant opportunity available to artists working in the public realm. Funds are raised by selling s'mores from a street vending cart.

Patrick Giroux, Jonathan Holley, and Emily Lawton: “Johnny America” is a small literary ‘zine with a strong handmade visual and design aesthetic.

Jane Gotch, Ke-Sook Lee, Miles Neidinger, Paul Rudy, Mark Southerland, Mica Thomas, and Jason Dixon: “WE!” is a collaborative, multimedia dance performance that strips away the safety net of the proscenium theater and sandwiches both dancer and viewer into a close-proximity, private performance space.

Audrey Lauber, Brooke Hunt, and Tomomi Suenaga: Through the “Endless Boundless” program, children will be immersed in interactive, interdisciplinary art workshops culminating in a community presentation of their collaborative efforts.

Seth Johnson and Ashley Miller: “The Center for the Advancement of Transmodern Awareness” is a multi-use space dedicated to promoting the evolution of culture by creating of new systems of social exchange.

Jarrett Mellenbruch: "Deep Ecology 1" is a functional beehive sculpture that invites contemplation on humankind's role in the earth's ecosystem.

Lee Piechocki, Aaron Storck, and Jeffrey Isom: Creation of a publication (“ASP/ SPA/PAS”) designed to engage members of the art, philosophy, and scientific communities in critical dialogue.

May Tveit: “Product Placement” is a series of site-specific, sculptural, public art interventions/happenings.

Jaimie Warren, Cody Critcheloe, and Peggy Noland: The artists will create a new video project involving collectives and artists in the Kansas City area collaborating extensively with national artists who will be flown in for the project.

Leralee Whittle and Paul Sprawl: “WorkArtOut” identifies the institutionalized body in a performance installation, featuring video of Whittle making art in gyms across America.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.