Commission announces winners of this year’s Phoenix Awards

The Lawrence Cultural Arts Commission today is expected to announce the winners of this year’s Phoenix Awards, bestowed annually to local artists and art supporters.

This year's winners, and their respective award categories, are Cathy Ledeker, Educator in the Arts; Ben Ahlvers, Visual Arts; Laura Ramberg, Exceptional Artistic Achievement; John Jervis, Musical Arts; and Theatre Lawrence, Creative Spaces.

The artist chosen to create the awards that will be given to each of the winners is Alicia Kelly, who works in paper and mixed media.

The public is invited to a reception recognizing the winners at 2 p.m. Nov. 3 at the Lawrence Arts Center, 940 New Hampshire St. Attendance is free.

Watch upcoming editions of the Journal-World for more on this year’s winning artists.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.